Automotive Hall of Fame announces 2005 inductees

March 23, 2005

The Automotive Hall of Fame, Dearborn, Mich., has released the names of its 2005 Class of Inductees. They are Mario Andretti, John Dunlop, Sir William Lyons, Jim Moran, Shirley Muldowney, John (Jack) Smith, Jr., John M. Studebaker and Alexander Winton. Formal induction ceremonies will take place Oct. 11, 2005 in Detroit.

Mario Andretti (1940- ), one of the world's greatest race drivers, has won championships at Indianapolis, Daytona and Formula One Grand Prix, to name a few.

John Dunlop (1840-1921) invented the first successful pneumatic (air-filled) tire. The pneumatic tire was patented in 1888.

Sir William Lyons (1901-1985) founded Jaguar Cars. He began his career by building motorcycle sidecars in 1922 and moved to coach building in 1927.

Jim Moran (1918- ) was one of the first auto dealers to advertise on television. He owned a Hudson, then Ford dealerships in Chicago. In 1968, Moran became a Toyota distributor in a five-state area in the southeast U.S.

Shirley Muldowney (1940- ) was the first woman licensed to drive a Top Fuel dragster in 1973. She won the NHRA World Championship three times, and she earned 18 career NHRA victories.

John (Jack) Smith, Jr. (1939- ) is the former Chairman and CEO of General Motors and is recognized for building the strength and depth of GM's management team worldwide.

John M. Studebaker (1833-1917) transformed the successful Studebaker Brothers Mfg. Co., which was the largest manufacturer of horse drawn vehicles, into the Studebaker Corp., becoming the second largest producer of automobiles in 1911.

Alexander Winton (1860-1932) was an American automotive pioneer who built one of the first mass-produced cars in 1898. Winton held more than 100 patents in the U.S. and Europe for various automotive advances.

comments powered by Disqus