Timken sponsors "Engineer of the Year" award

March 8, 2005

The Timken Company is sponsoring Design News'"Engineer of the Year" award. Timken and the former Torrington Company have had a long-standing tradition of sponsoring the program since its inception in 1987. Readers of Design News, a trade magazine covering mechanical and electromechanical design engineering, recently voted for the winner, and the recipient will be announced in April.

The award recognizes the minds behind significant developments in engineering. Each year, the magazine's editors nominate for the award those engineers who have led the most significant engineering projects and solved the most difficult technical challenges. The editors investigate the nominees' backgrounds and accomplishments and then profile the candidates in the pages of the magazine. The magazine's readers then vote for their choice as the leader of the profession. An educational grant is donated in the winner's name to the engineering school of his or her choice.

Past winners of the award include: Paul Bevilaqua, whose design work at Lockheed Martin was instrumental in landing the largest aircraft contract in history; Tom Vos, director of safety systems at TRW and the prime force behind the development of auto safety systems; Alan Mulally, president of Boeing Commercial and leader of the design efforts for the Boeing 777; and Brian Muirhead, Jet Propulsion Lab/NASA engineer who led the Mars Pathfinder program.

Related Companies

comments powered by Disqus